Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

School system welcomes 18 new staff members

July 31, 2020 - 00:00
Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Morgan County held its new teacher orientation on Thursday, July 23. Pictured here, the new staff meets at MCHS for a socially distanced technology training. LEILA SCOGGINS/Staff

On Thursday, July 23, the Morgan County Charter School System welcomed 18 new staff members to the One Morgan family.

“I am excited to welcome an incredible group of new teachers to our MCCSS family,” said Assistant Superintendent for Teaching and Learning Susan Tolbert. “We have an amazing faculty and staff, and our new additions will bring varied perspectives, skills and experiences to our community.”

When pre-planning began on Monday, July 27, Morgan County Primary School welcomed two new teachers. Sharon Garner joins the staff as an EIP teacher. Sarah Cook is also a new teacher at MCPS.

Morgan County Elementary School not only welcomed a new principal, Linda Smith, but also two new teachers. Victoria Autry and Jennifer Peacock join the MCES staff.

Morgan County Middle School will not only start school in its new building but will also have four new teachers join its staff. Elizabeth Beall and Laura Thomas will teach math. Travis Freeman will teach engineering and technology. Morgan Rice is a special education math teacher.

Morgan County High School added seven new teachers and two new paraprofessionals. Travis Gaubert and Elizabeth Strong are both special education teachers. Briana Stoops is the new agriculture teacher. Angela Harrell and Jamie Munoz are both math teachers.

Kathleen Goodwin will teach English and David Kramer will teach science. TeMarcus Blanton and Karen Mullins are both special education paraprofessionals.

The central office welcomed school psychologist Cheryl Cumbus.