Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

GWM Hall of Fame inducts four new authors

November 12, 2021 - 00:00
Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Jericho Brown
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Clarence Major
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Pearl Cleage
  • Article Image Alt Text
    John Lewis

Twenty-one years ago, the University of Georgia established the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame to recognize Georgia writers, past and present, whose work reflects the character of the state—its land and people. To qualify, nominees must be native to Georgia or have produced significant work while living in Georgia.

Three to five honorees are chosen each year by a board of judges appointed by the University of Georgia Librarian—academics, civic leaders, librarians, the heads of the University of Georgia Press and The Georgia Review, and recent Hall of Fame recipients.

Honorees have included such famed authors as Alice Walker, Joel Chandler Harris, Terry Kay, Margaret Mitchell, Flannery O’Connor, Pat Conroy, and Toni Cade Bambara. This year, four new honorees will be inducted in a series of special virtual ceremonies with the first held on Nov. 11 at 6 p.m. Contact www.georgiawritershalloffame. org to register. The new recipients are currently spotlighted at Georgia Writers Museum. The honorees for 2021 are:

Jericho Brown is the director of the creative writing program at Emory University in Atlanta. His first book, “Please,” won the American Book Award, his second book, “The New Testament,” won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, and his third collection, The Tradition, won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. Dr. Brown was also a finalist for the 2019 National Book Award. His poems have appeared in The New York Times, The New Yorker, The Paris Review and TIME magazine.

Pearl Cleage is the Distinguished Artist in Residence at Atlanta’s Alliance Theatre. She is the author of 15 plays, including Blues for an “Alabama Sky,” which enjoyed an off-Broadway run in 2020. Her 1998 novel, “What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day,” was an Oprah Book Club pick and spent nine weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. She has authored two books of poetry, a book of essays, and a memoir.

Clarence Major is a distinguished professor emeritus at the University of California, Davis. He is the author of 16 collections of poetry, 11 novels, and two collections of short stories. His recent books include “Dirty Bird Blues,” “Painted Turtle: Woman with Guitar” and “Such Was the Season.” He won a Western States Book Award for Fiction, a Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in the Fine Arts from the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation, and was a finalist for the National Book Award.

John Lewis is a renowned civil rights leader and U.S. congressman. His book, “Walking with the Wind,” won the Robert Kennedy Book Award, the Christopher Award, and the Lillian Smith Book Award. It was selected as a New York Times “Notable Book of the Year,” and was included among Newsweek magazine›s 2009 “50 Books for Our Times.” His graphic novel series, “March,” received the Coretta Scott King Book Award and the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.

Georgia Writers Museum is the repository of the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame. Admission to the museum is free; the museum relies on donations to deliver quality programming, exhibits and classes. To learn more, visit www. georgiawritersmuseum. org, Facebook: georgiawritersmuseum, and Instagram: georgiawritersmuseum8.